Receive Damages with the Right Slip and Fall Accident Lawyer in Monroe
It might seem like enough to get away from the scene of a fall with your limbs and dignity relatively intact, but if you’ve been involved in a slip and fall injury in Monroe, Louisiana, you’ll need to take swift action to receive the compensation you require to get your life back on track. Learn more about these types of injuries and why you’ll need to work with a top slip and fall accident lawyer in Monroe to win the damages you need in a court of law.
What Is a Slip and Fall Injury?
Slip and fall injuries are types of bodily injuries that occur when you slip, fall, and hurt yourself. In some cases, your fall may be entirely your fault, but it’s also possible that you fell due to the negligence of another party.
In Louisiana, there is a one-year statute of limitations for slip and fall injuries. Therefore, you’ll need to determine whether someone else was at fault for your injury within one year of the incident if you want to stand a chance of receiving compensation for the bodily harm you’ve sustained. Even though you might prefer to have adequate time to recover before you even start thinking about legal action, you’ll need to contact a lawyer sooner rather than later if you want to receive damages.
Are You Eligible to File a Lawsuit?
You may be eligible to file a slip and fall lawsuit if another party was at least partially to blame for your accident. For instance, if your fall occurred on public property and the administrator of the property failed to pursue adequate safeguards to prevent your injury, you could be eligible for compensation.
However, keep in mind that Louisiana has a comparative negligence rule, which means that your compensation might be reduced if a judge finds that you were at least partially at fault for your injury. Judges in Louisiana use a percentage system to determine comparative negligence; for instance, if you stand to be awarded $50,000 for your injury but the judge finds that you were 20 percent responsible for your accident, you’ll receive $40,000 in damages.
Make sure you remember that you aren’t eligible for any compensation whatsoever if you don’t file your lawsuit within one year of the time of an incident. Therefore, it’s best to contact a lawyer immediately after your accident.
Get Damages to Compensate for Your Injury
The entity who was responsible for your accident won’t want to pay up willingly. Therefore, it will be necessary to prove beyond a reasonable doubt in a court of law that the responsible party caused your accident.
You’ll also need to accurately explain the extent of the injuries you received. A sprained ankle, for instance, will make you eligible for a certain degree of compensation, but a more advanced injury, such as a compound fracture, will make you eligible for increased compensation from the responsible party.
If your injury negatively impacted your quality of life, harmed your ability to make a living, or estranged you from important people in your life, you may be eligible for even more compensation. Therefore, relying on a lawyer to clearly express the extent of your injuries is necessary if you want to receive the compensation you need to get your life back on track.
Work with the Best Slip and Fall Accident Lawyer in Monroe
Our expert team here at Broussard & Hart is all too familiar with the harm that slip and fall injuries can cause. We’re also aware of just how hard responsible parties will fight to avoid paying out for injuries, which is why we’re standing by to hear the details of your case and mount a solid defense of your interests. To get started with a free consultation, call us at 866-281-4774 today!
Wrongful Death Attorney
Personal Injury Attorney
24 Hour Response
Our attorneys will review your case and represent you throughout your car crash claim. Contact Broussard & Hart L.L.C. today for help pursuing a car accident settlement. Your first consultation is free and we won’t charge fees unless money is recovered.